In what order to watch the X-Men movies?

When the first X-Men movie hit theaters, it sparked an incredible interest in Marvel’s mutants. And, since 2000, we have been able to enjoy a lot, sequels, prequels and spin-offs. However, there was never really a sequence to tie the films into a coherent story. Find out in what order you can watch the X-Men movies, if you like a very clear timeline.

If we look carefully there are some holes in the plot that a rebooted timeline can explain, because with a couple of films from the main franchise and other projects arising from them, in addition to the films Wolverine, Deadpool and in a short time, The New Mutants , there are only specific elements that unite the different deliveries.

Perhaps the most relevant would be the heroes and villains with mutant powers and the ideological battle of Professor Xavier and Magneto for their souls. Without forgetting the constant presence of Hugh Jackman that we have been able to enjoy in more than half of the productions. Let’s dive into the world of Marvel mutants.

X-Men movies in order of release date

With so many productions inspired by stories owned by Marvel Comics that have made so much money in Hollywood, it’s almost unbelievable that they were considered a risky gamble in the early 21st century.

Nonetheless, since its launch, the X-Men spearheaded the successful invasion of comics into the world of cinema. In the two decades following the release of the first film in the series, we have seen eleven more films from the X-Men universe. At present the film The new mutants, remains on hold after such an eventful 2020. Here are the X-Men films in order of their premiere on the big screen:

  • X-Men (2000)
  • X-Men 2 / X2: X-Men united (2003)
  • X-Men: the last stand / X-Men: The Final Stand (2006)
  • X-Men origins: Wolverine / X-Men origins: Wolverine (2009)
  • X-Men: first class / X-Men: first generation (2011)
  • The wolverine / immortal wolverine (2013)
  • X-Men: days of future past / X-Men: days of future past (2014)
  • Deadpool (2016)
  • X-Men: Apocalypse / X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)
  • Logan (2017)
  • Deadpool 2 (2018)
  • X-Men: dark phoenix / X-Men: dark phoenix (2019)
  • The new mutants / The new mutants (2020, TBC)

X-Men movies by series

The X-Men movies don’t exist as an ongoing saga. Instead, there were several mini-franchises within Fox’s larger X franchise. For that reason, it’s easier to think of those groups, rather than obsessing over fitting them into a single large entity.

The circumstances were simple in the early days, because X-Men, X-Men 2, and X-Men: The Final Decision, represented the beginning, middle, and end of an independent trilogy. But Fox was never going to let such a lucrative franchise die with just three movies.

Three years after The Final Decision, Hugh Jackman returned with an origin story for the most popular character in the series, Wolverine or Wolverine. Now let’s know how you can see all X-men movies by series:

Original X-Men trilogy

  • X Men
  • X-Men 2 / X2: X-Men united
  • X-Men: The Final Decision

Prequel series

  • X Men First generation
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past
  • X-Men: Apocalypse
  • X-Men: Dark Phoenix

Wolverine Series

  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine
  • Wolverine immortal
  • Logan

Deadpool series

The new mutants

X-Men movies in chronological order

This is where the landscape becomes quite complex, due to the disorganized X-Men timelines. They all take place at very different times, for example, the story of the mutants begins in X-Men: First Generation, from 1962, continuing with X-Men: Days of Future Past, from 1973, and so on.

The truth is that even when most of the dates fit, the events in the plot are contradictory in the timeline where they take place, however, if you want to see them according to a strict chronological order, here we leave the films very well organized:

  • X-Men: First Class (set in 1962)
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (1973 footage)
  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine (1979)
  • X-Men: Apocalypse (1983)
  • X-Men: Dark Phoenix (1992)
  • X-Men (set in the near future beginning in 2000)
  • X-Men 2 / X2: X-Men united (inspired after X-Men)
  • X-Men: The Final Decision (continued after X-Men 2)
  • Immortal Wolverine (set after X-Men: the last stand)
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (Future sequences set in 2023)
  • Logan (2029)

In the X-Men movies, ground zero is the 1973 segment of Days of Future Past, as as soon as the heroes of the 70s prevent the creation of the Sentinels, they avoid the future that led to the mutant Armageddon in the vein of main time, creating an alternate sequence of events. The new timelines then look like this:

Prime X-Men timeline

  • X Men First generation
  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine
  • X Men
  • X-Men 2 / X2: X-Men united
  • X-Men: the final decision
  • Wolverine immortal
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (2023 Post-Apocalyptic Sequences)

Chronology of the days after the future past

  • X Men First generation
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (1973 footage)
  • X-Men: Apocalypse
  • X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (future “repaired” sequences, with resurrected Cyclops and Jean Gray)

X-Men movies, based on their ratings

Internet Movie Database is an online database where you can find information about films and where registered people can vote for the ones they like the most. There are approximately one hundred million users who rate the productions of each year.

When looking at user ratings on IMDb, it’s not surprising to see Logan topping the list. Fueled by the phenomenal performances of Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart, the James Mangold film pushed the boundaries of what could be a majestic superhero film: the way the characters deal with the aging process is as important as the mutant action. .

There are equally high scores for Days of Future Past, arguably the most ambitious of the X-men movies, and the first Deadpool, arguably the funniest. On the other hand, X-Men: Dark Phoenix was a critical failure. Here are the movies organized in relation to the best IMDb scores, in case you only want to see the ones with positive reviews:

  • Logan: 8.1
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past: 8.0
  • Deadpool: 8.0
  • X-Men: First Class: 7.7
  • Deadpool 2: 7.7
  • X-Men: 7.4
  • X-Men 2 / X2: X-Men united: 7.4
  • X-Men: Apocalypse: 6.9
  • X-Men: The Last Stand: 6.7
  • Immortal Wolverine: 6.7
  • X-Men origins: Wolverine: 6.6
  • X-Men: Dark Phoenix: 5.8

Discover the best movies to think about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *